The FSSC 22000 Scheme FAQs


What does the FSSC 22000 Standard cover?

The FSSC 22000 Scheme is based on the International Standard ISO 22000-Requirements for any organisation in the food chain, industry-specific Prerequisite Programs (PRPs) based on technical specifications (i.e. ISO/TS 22002-x), and the FSSC 22000 Additional Requirements as determined by the Foundation.


 Where can I get the Scheme documents?

Licenced copies of the ISO 22000 Standard and relevant PRPs (i.e. ISO/TS 22002-x) can be purchased online from standards organisations such as Standards Australia ( The FSSC 22000 Scheme documents are available for free on the Foundation’s website (


How can we upgrade our ISO 22000 certification to FSSC?

ISO 22000 forms part of the FSSC 22000 Scheme and Companies can therefore easily transition to FSSC at their next ISO 22000 Audit. The Transition Audit requires the same audit duration as a Triennial Audit and will result in a new FSSC 22000 certificate with a 3 years validity upon successful completion of the audit.


Can we keep our ISO 22000 certificate?

The FSSC 22000 audit automatically covers ISO 22000, there is no additional audit time required if a company wishes to maintain its ISO 22000 certification. A separate ISO 22000 certificate can be issued for a small certificate fee.


Why should my business get certified to FSSC 22000?
  • The FSSC 22000 Scheme is approved by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI). Major supermarkets and food manufacturers require their suppliers to be certified against a GFSI approved Standard.

  • It is based on ISO Standards, sector-specific technical specifications for PRPs, market-driven additional requirements as well as statutory and regulatory requirements

  • FSSC 22000 is very popular in Europe and is now gaining more popularity in Asian countries with an increasing demand for FSSC certified suppliers for export.

  • FSSC 22000 covers Food Fraud and Food Defence, which is gaining more focus based on recent incidents.

  • FSSC allows integration with other management system standards such as quality, environmental, workplace safety, etc.

  • FSSC increases transparency throughout the food chain supply.

  • It is governed by a non-profit Foundation and managed by an independent Board of Stakeholders.


What industry sectors can get certified to FSSC 22000?
  • Food manufacturing*

  • Production of bio-chemicals*

  • Production of food packaging and packaging materials*

  • Farming of animals

  • Animal feed production

  • Catering

  • Retail/Wholesale

  • Storage & Transport

*Please note: TQCSI provides certification only to the industries marked up above.


How often will we get audited against FSSC?
  • Following initial certification, the FSSC 22000 Scheme requires 12 monthly audits.

  • The certificate is valid for three years and each certification cycle consists of two Surveillance Audits to assess continued compliance with the Scheme and a Triennial Audit for recertification.


Will there be unannounced audits?

Only one of the two Surveillance Audits each certification cycle is required to be unannounced. However, clients can opt for more unannounced audits if they wish.


What Companies are certified against FSSC 22000?

A register of FSSC certified organisations is available on the Foundation’s website.


What can TQCSI offer to my company?

TQCSI provides auditing of integrated management systems. Rather than having separate audits for each management system (i.e. quality, food safety, environmental, etc.), TQCSI can audit all management systems in one audit. This saving on audit duration, costs and resources.
TQCSI has its Head Office in Adelaide, ensuring the use of local auditors within SA detailed audit reports clearly identifying any findings raised.



If you didn’t find your answer here, contact us. We at TQCSI will gladly clarify any questions you might have, free of costs.


Call the ISO Certification experts on +61 8 8347 0603

ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001, FSSC 22000, ISO 22000, HACCP, ISO 27001, ISO 55001 and more